Miami-Dade 2040 LRTP - Oct. 23, 2014

8-2 | MOBILITY OPTIONS 8 Regional Coordination SNAPSHOT While the Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach MPOs have long maintained cooperative working relationships with each other, their alliance solidified when the 2000 Census defined the tri-county area as the Miami Urbanized Area. Then in 2005, recognizing the need for increased regional transportation planning and coordination balanced with the need and desire to maintain localized transportation planning, the three MPOs created the Southeast Florida Transportation Council (SEFTC). This was accomplished through an Interlocal Agreement under Florida Statutes Chapter 339.1 75, paving the way for the first meeting in January 2006. Within the Miami Urbanized Area itself, there are 3 counties, 104 cities, 3 MPO’s, 3 transit agencies, 2 Florida Department of Transportation Districts, 2 regional planning councils, 1 transportation council, 1 regional transportation authority, 1 statewide rail enterprise, and 1 expressway authority. These agencies, shown in Figure 8-1 , must all work in a coordinated, collaborative fashion in order to successfully plan and implement regional transportation projects for the jurisdictions highlight in the map shown in Figure 8-2 . Transit Agencies Regional Planning Councils Metropolitan Planning Organization Regional Partners Department of Transportation Figure 8-1 | Many Partners, One Unified Voice Regional Transportation Authority